Being single, struggle or nah?

Dear Queens and kings,

I hope your week has been good and If it hasn’t then I’m sorry, lets try and make next week better. If you’re a regular you know what to do, grab your ginger beer and get comfy but If you’re new I suggest you go and read some earlier posts and posts that give you a little bit of insight about my last few months.

You’re back! Great….

So, this week I want to talk about being single… I can hear some of you saying “For, why?!” and to that I say because there seems to be a negative stereotype attached to being single and a woman (I mean, I am one so I should know).

Does single mean you’re too picky and too independent?

It seems that as society progresses women are having babies at a later age and are choosing to focus on their career before starting a family. I am one of those women and yes I am only 22 but the constant reminder that ‘I need to settle down soon before my time runs out’ is deafening loud. Apparently ‘a young woman like me should have a gang of men lining up’ and it’s not that I don’t have potential men that I could date, its just that none of them are what I need/deserve. I have kissed a few frogs and the more frogs you kiss the more you realise theres a perfectly imperfect prince God is setting aside for you.

Now, don’t get me wrong sometimes I’m like “God, everybody is settling down; getting married and having babies and then there is me getting too excited when the waiter brings out my food”. Sometimes it’s a little upsetting/irritating and can seem to appear unfair that you are the only single person in social situations.

On the other hand I get to develop more, I get to do what I want when I want. I could book a holiday, change my career or buy a new car without having to worry about anyone else. The most important thing I have been able to do is find God which has meant that I have then found myself.

Does that mean you don’t want a man?

Bruh? Come on now, of course I’d love to be with someone and build our future together but at the same time I am slowly starting to realise that this ‘single season’ should be met with 24/7 work rate (in all areas of my life). I’m constantly working and trying to evolve into the woman God desired me to be. So, If God brings him my way then I wouldn’t complain but I’m focused on building right now.

To wrap this one up I’m going to leave you with a question:

What are you building?

Peace and love,

TishaJayy xxx

One thought on “Being single, struggle or nah?

  1. Dominique says:

    I’ve been single a lot longer than I had ever anticipated. However, the upside is that I found myself, I reconnected with God and I am in a more emotionally stable place to give part of me to someone.

    The selfish aspect of it is great – only having to think about you one! Society does put a lot of pressure on us to settle bla bla bla, however I agree that God will provide (sound like a rasta) when the time is right and why settle for less than you deserve?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

