My practice

Hey Queens and Kings,

I hope you’re all well and looking after yourselves. You know the drill grab your ginger bear yo and get comfy. Last weeks post was all about the stigma surrounding therapy and if you missed it feel free to go and have a read, don’t worry I will wait for you 🙂

Yass girl, you’re back, so how was the post? not bad? too much? either way I hope you appreciate the grind. Let’s get down to the post!

My practice?!?

So, when I was planning this post (in JAN) I naively thought I’d be soooo clued up as to what my personal practice as a trainee Dramatherapist would be… oh how silly of me to think such wild things aha. One, I have had no clients on my placement as of yet which will be explained in more detail in May, two I’m starting to realise that being a Dramatherapist means that your practice will continuously evolve and three, one minute I KNOW WHAT IM DOING BUT THEN THE NEXT MINUTE I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT I AM DOING and I think I’m speaking for most of the people on my course HA! All of this made it incredibly hard to write this post because I’m sitting here thinking I have no content, which made me think hmmm …lets start with the basics:

  1.   How does a session work? Dramatherapy sessions have a basic out line (opening ritual- warm up, games, main content, closing rituals- cool down and reflection or check out).
  2. What does it look like? Dramatherapy sessions can either be on a 1:1 basis or group settings.
  3.  Who is Dramatherapy for? Dramatherapy can be for anyone.

Trial and error in therapy?!?!

You may be thinking ‘Say what now? Tisha how can you afford to make mistakes when talking about someones therapy sessions?!’. To answer your question(s), so that big mistakes are not made during my qualified practice, my course offers multiple chances for us to do facilitations of a dramatherapy sessions; this helps with confidence to explore our practice and simply gives us a chance to learn off of each other. we get to learn basics that will keep the sessions safe and also learn how to support our clients in a professional yet understanding way.

This is a short one!

Yup, guys I’m really about to finish up this post already. This weeks post has been so hard but I guess this is apart of the process and I promised to let you in on all aspects. I’ve not had much practice out on placement because we have to sort out the young adults time tabling and apparently a month is not enough time to do so. Can you hear the hint of frustration!? Like I mentioned before there will be more about my placement difficulties in a later post but for now my queens and kings, thank you for reading and see you next week.

Peace and love TishaJayy xx

One thought on “My practice

Leave a Reply

