Journaling – Personal Therapy

Hey Queens and Kings,

I hope the vulnerability of last weeks post enabled you guys to see me in a different light and I hope it was an inspiring testimony on how personal therapy and my faith has helped me. This week I’m going to blog about something that may seem cliche, childish or even too time consuming but also something that I have done and still do, okay I will get to the point….. I’m talking about Journaling.

REALLY TISHA?

Yes really guys, It does not have to be a bright pink, fluffy, diamond incrusted Journal. It just has to be something you can write in without the fear of it being seen by others… so in other words It’s for yours and Gods eyes ONLY. A place for you to express how you are feeling in a safe and not so public way. I can hear you asking well how is this going to help me ? and more importantly how do I  even start?

 Getting started!

  1. Go and buy yourself a journal, personally I would buy a new one and not one you just have lying around because to me it represents a new start.
  2. Don’t think about it too much. If you are really stuck start with three things you are thankful for or three things you wish were different about today.
  3. Try to write at least once a week.

How is this going to help?

Well bare with me but I’m going to use the bible as a comparison. So the bible is a timeless collection of scriptures that to me is a testimony of the power of God, like I said bare with me. Even though your Journal is nowhere as important than the bible, it should be something that is still very important to you. Important but why? your journal will (overtime) as you continue to write be a testimony to how important the transformative process of journaling is/was to you. You will be able to look back at what you have written and see how much you have developed as a person, it will become almost a guide to getting to know yourself again and (when you are feeling down) a reassurance that you will get through the tough times.

Now this part of the blog post is for my born again Christians and those who are simply interested in christianity and the ways in which it can help you. At the moment I’m studying ‘The Whole Armour of God’ (boy do we all need it), I looked at:

Eph 6:12 ‘For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.’

But how does this relate back to my journaling?

I related this back to my journaling because I viewed my Journal entries as prayers. I write as if I’m talking to God, as if I’m praying …I’m telling God about my day, giving thanks sometimes and even crying out to him. This naturally leads me to find comfort and strength in my bible, Which (the scriptures) becomes apart my armour against the enemy when I feel myself losing shalom. I hope you are getting the connection I am trying to make between God/bible and Journaling as gateway to building up your Armour.

God bless

Love and peace Tisha Jayy xxx

One thought on “Journaling – Personal Therapy

Leave a Reply

