Perception of self – Identity in christ.

Hey Queens and Kings,

So if you saw the last post you will know that this month here at ‘It’s her Melanin’ is Perception of self month but before we get started on that topic I want us to open with a prayer. As you should have seen the killings of black lives in the USA is something that is on the rise and there seems to be a no justice as an outcome…

Lord, I pray that as we go through such times as these that we are reminded of how we as christians are to seek out justice and peace. I pray that the families directly involved and us as a people are able to be strong and still show love and compassion, that we do not let our anger and fear mask how the holy spirit is trying to lead us, that we continue to find comfort in the scriptures and are able to use them as guidance when we are unsure on what to do next. Lord put your hand upon this world and show us how we are meant to treat each other in the way that you unconditionally love us. Amen

It is so important that we come together and stand up for what we believe in and that we use smart tactics to create a healthy dialogue between them and us in order to become we.

Perception of self

As you know ‘It’s her Melanin’ is aimed at young girls and women, so this will be who I am addressing in this post but that does not mean if you are a young boy or man you should stop reading. Let’s begin…  Young girls and women how you perceive yourself (below your faith) can determine how you live your life and sets the foundation for your adult life. So many factors play a huge part of how we perceive ourselves as women including physical appearance.

Is it the media’s fault?

The media tells us that we are objects for consumption and that we should look a certain way. Allowing women to be stereotyped as only having value If they meet westernised beauty standard of being female. This usually includes having fair skin but not too pale, clear skin, long hair but not too long, curves but in the ‘right’ places, tall but not too tall, natural beauty but wear make-up etc thus creating an ‘illusion’ of what beauty actually is. Do you get my point? the list of things I just said put too much pressure and high expectations on young girls and women. This can develop negative mental health issues which in some cases could have been avoided. Personally my own physical perception of myself was something that I did not struggle with until the last few years, I was finishing University and felt like ‘Tisha the student’ had to become ‘Tisha the adult’ but that still did not help me with who I was. If anything it made things worse and I started to feel lost thinking that the way I looked had an impact on who I was, Bearing in mind this was before I was born again. Questions that started to arise were:

  • Who am I?
  • What do I actually stand for?
  • Where do I begin to find myself?
  • How can I change the way I look in order to have a better perception of myself?

Identity in christ! 

After being baptised and as I continue to study scripture I gain new heights of confidence in my physical appearance that are not boastful or showy but are ‘I may look in the mirror and want to change what I see but God has made me exactly how I’m meant to be’ which allows me the freedom to be comfortable with who I am as long as it is in line with what/who Christ wants me to be. Scripture that helps me with my perception of who I was, the way I look and claiming my identity in christ are:

Genesis 1:27- ’27 God created man is his own image, in the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.’

Jeremiah 1:5 – ‘5 Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart;…’

Colossians 3:1-3 – ‘1 Since then, you have been raised with Christ, 2 set your hearts on things above, not earthly things. 3 For you died, and your life is know hidden with Christ in God.’

These verses have different stories/explanations behind them but still give me comfort and reassurance in this metaphorical journey I am at the start of. They along with other study points have helped me to be active in perusing the plan has for me. Just so we are clear it did not happen over night and I sometimes stumble but now I feel more equipped to handle the stumbling blocks. A mentor at my church said “God is the ultimate standard, Christ is our connection to God, the spirit is our guidance and the bible is a testimony and handbook for us to follow and bear witness to”.

Round-up

I really hope this will help with anyone who is struggling with who they are and that finding your identity in Christ will be something that you pursue. I would also like to end on the fact this is something that I have taken from my own study sessions and you may come across something different which is ok.

Peace and light

TishaJayy xx

Leave a Reply

